The IEC Afghanistan was established in 2005 and remains a young institution. After the 2008 voter registration exercise and 2009 elections, the IEC Afghanistan put into place measures to increase its transparency and accountability to Afghan people. There are seven commissioners in the Independent Election Commission of Afghanistan (IEC). Mr. Najibullah Ahmadzai is the IEC Chairman, Ms Wasima Badghisi is the Operational Vice Chairperson, Mr. Abdul Qadir Quraishi is the Admin and Finance Vice Chairperson and Dr. Gullajan Abdul Badi Sayad is the Spokesperson, and Mr. Mazullah Daulaty, Ms Maliha Hassan and Dr. Rafiullah Baidar are the rest members of IEC.